Rencontrez les conférencières

 
Eliza.jpeg

Eliza Ali

Étudiante au doctorat, Département de neuroscience, Université Carleton/ Laboratoire Merali, Institut royal de recherche en santé mentale

Titre de la discussion : Can rats teach us more about empathy?

(en anglais seulement)

Au cours de ses recherches en neurosciences à l'Université Carleton, Eliza a exploré comment le stress indirect affecte le comportement et la neurobiologie des rats juvéniles et adultes. Elle est membre de la section de la Society for Neuroscience à Ottawa et Global Shaper avec le Forum économique mondial. Elle combine sa passion pour l'enseignement, la sensibilisation scientifique et l'autonomisation des jeunes à travers son travail de développement et de présentation d'activités pratiques pour expliquer des sujets scientifiques complexes avec enthousiasme et positivité. Elle est apparue en tant que scientifique invitée dans l'émission Look Kool de TVO et a voyagé dans des collectivités du nord de l'Ontario et du Nunavut pour enseigner les sciences dans les écoles. Pour son engagement envers la sensibilisation scientifique auprès des jeunes, elle a été nominée pour le Prix national du bénévolat Parlons sciences. Elle aime lire des livres de toutes sortes, faire du bricolage et faire de la randonnée.

  • LinkedIn
8 - Irem Bor-Yaliniz.jpg

Dre Irem Bor-Yaliniz

Ingénieure de recherche senior / Centre de recherche Huawei Canada

Titre de la discussion : Sky is the limit for next generation wireless communications

(en anglais seulement)

 

Irem est ingénieure de recherche principale dans l'un des centres de recherche sans fil les plus distingués, à savoir le Centre de recherche Huawei Canada. Elle a récemment obtenu son doctorat de l'Université Carleton. Ses recherches ont attiré beaucoup d'attention en peu de temps et ses études ont été qualifiées de "révolutionnaires" par les professionnels de son domaine. Elle est la première Canadienne à être choisie comme l'une des étoiles montantes en communications et en réseautage par N2Women, et est devenue membre senior de l'IEEE avant l'obtention de son diplôme, ce qui est une réalisation rare. Elle est passionnée par le fait de rendre la science et l'ingénierie compréhensibles pour tout le monde et d'encourager les jeunes générations pour de tels programmes. Par conséquent, elle a conçu et dispensé le premier mini-programme d'enrichissement sur les communications sans fil et est devenue membre fondatrice de Science Slam Ottawa, une branche de Science Slam Canada.

  • Twitter
Jodi.jpg

Dre Jodi Edwards

Scientifique/professeur adjoint, Institut de cardiologie de l'Université d'Ottawa/Université d'Ottawa

Titre de la discussion : Follow your heart but don't forget your brain: The heart-brain connection for cardiovascular health

(en anglais seulement)

 

La Dre Jodi Edwards est directrice du programme de recherche sur le lien entre le cerveau et le cœur à l'Institut de cardiologie de l'Université d'Ottawa (ICUO) et professeure adjointe à l'École d'épidémiologie et de santé publique de l'Université d'Ottawa. Le Dr Edwards est un épidémiologiste cardiovasculaire dont le programme de recherche comprend l'évaluation des risques et la modélisation prédictive de l'interface cœur-cerveau, avec un accent particulier sur l'identification de nouveaux marqueurs cardiaques du risque d'accident vasculaire cérébral et de démence et de la santé cardiaque et cérébrale des femmes. La Dre Edwards a terminé sa formation doctorale à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique en 2014, où elle a reçu le prix Brain Star des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) de l'Institut des neurosciences et de la santé mentale pour ses travaux de doctorat. Elle a ensuite effectué un stage postdoctoral avec la Dre Sandra Black au Sunnybrook Research Institute de Toronto, avant de se joindre à l'UOHI en décembre 2017. La Dre Edwards a publié de nombreux articles dans des revues cliniques de premier plan, notamment le Journal of the American Heart Association, Stroke, La neurologie, la maladie d'Alzheimer et la démence et ses travaux ont reçu l'attention des médias nationaux. Le Dr Edwards détient actuellement des fonds de recherche des IRSC, de la Société canadienne de cardiologie et des Essais canadiens sur l'AVC pour des résultats optimisés.

  • Twitter
Gracielle.png

Dre Gracielle Higino

Université de la Colombie-Britannique

Titre de la discussion : Never tell me the odds!

(en anglais seulement)

​Gracielle est une biologiste qui s'est toujours demandée comment les espèces ont évolué et comment elles ont fini par vivre là où elles vivent aujourd'hui. Elle a commencé sa carrière en recherchant pourquoi certaines demoiselles ressemblent à des mâles et elle est maintenant postdoctorante à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique en sauvant des données sur le point de disparaître. Attendez, les données ? Oui, des données ! Elle aide à obtenir des données environnementales, écologiques et évolutives précieuses qui ne sont pas correctement archivées et à les rendre ouvertes afin qu'elles puissent prospérer pendant de nombreuses années à venir. Elle essaie également de comprendre des choses sur la distribution des espèces, par exemple si nous pouvons utiliser ce que nous savons de leurs interactions pour savoir où elles se trouvent.

  • Twitter
Niki.jpg

Niki Mavragani

Étudiante au doctorat, Université d'Ottawa

Titre de la discussion : Let's talk magnetism!

(en anglais seulement)

 

Niki Mavragani, originaire de Grèce, est une étudiante internationale diplômée à l'Université d'Ottawa. Elle a effectué ses études de premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs à l'Université de Patras en Grèce où elle a obtenu une maîtrise en chimie analytique (2018). Depuis 2019, elle poursuit un doctorat en chimie et se spécialise dans la synthèse d'aimants à molécule unique en tant que membre du Groupe Murugesu à l'Université d'Ottawa.

  • Twitter
Sangeeta.jpeg

Dre Sangeeta Murugkar

Professeure agrégée, Département de physique, Université Carleton

Titre de la discussion : Biophotonics: Shedding Light on Life

(en anglais seulement)

 

La Dre Sangeeta Murugkar est professeure agrégée au Département de physique de l'Université Carleton où elle dirige le laboratoire de recherche en biophotonique. Elle souhaite appliquer son expérience dans l'étude des interactions lumière-matière et son expérience dans l'industrie de la photonique, pour développer des techniques optiques qui peuvent être transposées à la clinique pour améliorer les soins aux patients.

    Sandhu-Pic 2.jpg

    Dre Jagdeep K. Sandhu

    Agente de recherche, Conseil national de recherches Canada

    Titre de la discussion : The inflamed brain: putting out the fire of inflammation

    (en anglais seulement)

    La Dre Sandhu a obtenu son doctorat en 1998 sous la supervision du Dr Hyman Birnboim de l'Université d'Ottawa, où elle a établi le rôle des radicaux libres produits par les neutrophiles infiltrant les tumeurs dans la progression tumorale. Après avoir obtenu la bourse postdoctorale du CRSNG, elle s'est jointe au Conseil national de recherches Canada et a été embauchée comme agente de recherche continue en 2001. Ses recherches portent sur 2 thèmes : i) Comprendre le rôle du système immunitaire inné lors de l'inflammation, ii) Tirer parti de exosomes - les propres nanoparticules de la nature pour fournir des thérapies et pour la découverte de biomarqueurs. Elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec les sociétés biopharmaceutiques et fournit un large éventail d'expertises dans le développement préclinique et l'évaluation de candidats thérapeutiques en réduisant les risques et en accélérant leur commercialisation. En tant que professeur auxiliaire à l'Université d'Ottawa, le Dr Sandhu est impliqué dans l'enseignement et extrêmement dévoué à la formation de la prochaine génération de scientifiques et est membre de la Faculté des études supérieures et postdoctorales.

      Liette - pic 2.jpg

      Dre Liette Vasseur

      Professeure titulaire, Brock University

      Titre de la discussion : Pour un bon vin, il faut un bon vignoble!

      Vasseur est professeure titulaire au Département des sciences biologiques à l’Université Brock, St Catharines, Ontario, Canada. Elle est aussi membre du Centre de recherche sur la durabilité environnementale, un des cinq centres de recherche transdisciplinaire de l’université). Depuis 2014, elle est titulaire de la Chaire UNESCO en viabilité des communautés: du local au global. Son programme de recherche est transdisciplinaire et se lie à la gestion des écosystèmes, la résilience et l’adaptation aux changements climatiques et ce à travers des recherches actions participatives avec les communautés soit rurales ou côtières. Son travail se situe non seulement au Canada, mais aussi à l’international comme en Chine (comme chercheure Minjiang à la Fujian Agriculture and Forestry University), l’Équateur, le Burkina Faso et le Sénégal. Elle travaille sur les aspects d’égalité de genre, diversité et inclusion avec la CCUNESCO. Depuis 2020, elle est co-éditrice-en-chef de la revue Botanique. Elle préside présentement la Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO (CCUNESCO) ainsi que le groupe thématique en gouvernance écosystémique à la Commission sur la gestion des écosystèmes de l’Union internationale sur la conservation de la nature où elle est aussi vice-présidente pour l’Amérique du Nord. Sa recherche université-communauté lui a valu d’être récipiendaire en 2011 du prix Latornell de Conservation Ontario et le Brock University Distinguished Research and Creative Activity Award en 2018.

      • Twitter
      Onita.jpg

      Dre Onita Basu

      Professeure, Département de génie civil et environnemental, Université Carleton

      Titre de la discussion : Do you know your SDGs?

      (en anglais seulement)

       

      La Dre Basu est une ingénieure en environnement avec plus de 15 ans d'expérience dans l'industrie et le milieu universitaire. La Dre Basu dirige un groupe de recherche appliquée axé sur la conception expérimentale, la mise en place et la conception d'expériences à l'échelle du banc, à l'échelle pilote et à grande échelle. Le coaching d'une communication efficace en STIM est un axe clé de la formation de son groupe de recherche.  Les applications de recherche comprennent le traitement de l'eau et  gestion des ressources dans les zones rurales, optimisation de la biofiltration, désinfection des eaux usées, opérations membranaires et développement des biocarburants. La Dre Basu a récemment reçu un prix d'excellence en recherche de l'Université Carleton (2019), un prix de mentorat pour étudiant.e.s diplômé.e.s de Carleton (2021) et le prix civique PEO Ottawa Chapter (2020).

      • Twitter
      CR5_7273.jpg

      Dre Claire Deschênes

      Professeure émérite, Université Laval

      Titre de la discussion : De la beauté en physique et dans les turbines hydrauliques

       

      Professeure émérite de l'Université Laval, la professeure Claire Deschênes est une pionnière connue internationalement pour ses recherches en génie, pour son engagement à élargir la place des femmes en sciences et pour l'égalité des femmes en général. Depuis 2017, elle est directrice de la revue savante interdisciplinaire Recherches féministes. Elle a reçu plusieurs distinctions dont Membre de l'Ordre du Canada, Chevalière de l'Ordre national du Québec et deux doctorats honorifiques. Elle a fondé le Laboratoire de machines hydrauliques de l’Université Laval et mis pied un consortium de recherches industrielles et universitaires aujourd’hui mondialement reconnu pour le développement des analyses expérimentales et numériques de pointe sur les turbines hydrauliques. 

        Monica.jpg

        Dre Monica Granados

        Analyste principal des politiques, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

        Titre de la discussion : Open science: Putting science within reach

        (en anglais seulement)

        Mme Granados est conseillère en politiques sur les sciences ouvertes et les données à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Elle fournit une expertise en la matière et soutient la réalisation des initiatives de science ouverte du Canada. En tant que membre de l'équipe de direction de PREreview, elle travaille à rendre l'examen par les pairs plus ouvert et plus diversifié. Monica fait également partie du conseil d'administration de la Société canadienne pour l'accès aux données, qui promeut les données ouvertes au Canada, et est une ancienne élève de la Frictonless Data Fellowship.

        • Twitter
        Adina.jpg

        Prof. Adina Luican-Mayer

        Professeure adjointe, Département de physique, Université d'Ottawa

        Titre de la discussion : The amazing quantum world of the thinnest materials  

        (en anglais seulement)

        Adina Luican-Mayer a débuté comme professeure adjointe au département de physique de l'Université d'Ottawa en janvier 2016. Elle a obtenu son diplôme de premier cycle de l'Université Jacobs de Brême en Allemagne (2006) et son doctorat en physique de l'Université Rutgers aux États-Unis (2012). Avant de se joindre à l'Université d'Ottawa, elle était la boursière postdoctorale Alexei Abrikosov au Center for Nanoscale Materials du Argonne National Laboratory à l'extérieur de Chicago.

         

        Son groupe de recherche se concentre sur la découverte des nouvelles propriétés électroniques des systèmes de faible dimension fabriqués sur mesure en empilant des feuilles atomiquement minces de matériaux de van der Waals à l'aide de la microscopie à sonde à balayage et de techniques spectroscopiques.

        • Twitter
        Nirosha.jpg

        Dre Nirosha J. Murugan

        Professeure adjointe en sciences de la santé, Université d'Algoma

        Titre de la discussion : Reprogramming cancer – using regenerative & biomedical engineering strategies to change the fate of cancer

        (en anglais seulement)

        Je viens d'être nommé professeure adjointe au Département de biologie de l'Université d'Algoma. Ayant grandi dans une ville animée comme Toronto, cela m'a toujours fasciné de voir autant de gens interagir et communiquer avec les autres pour construire une ville prospère dans ce qui semblait être un environnement chaotique. Quelle quantité de signal peut-on trouver dans le bruit ? Cette fascination pour les systèmes biologiques et leurs environnements m'a conduit à l'Université Laurentienne du Nord de l'Ontario, où j'ai commencé à me concentrer sur ces questions en mettant l'accent sur la santé humaine; comment les systèmes biologiques communiquent avec leur environnement et que se passe-t-il lorsque ces systèmes de communication tombent en panne. J'ai ensuite acquis une expertise interdisciplinaire avec une formation en neurosciences (BSc-Sudbury, ON), en biologie du cancer (MSc & PhD Sudbury, ON) et en médecine régénérative et génie biomédical (Post-Doc-Boston USA). J'utilise maintenant ce répertoire diversifié pour apporter une nouvelle perspective à des questions complexes avec un focus centré : Comment pouvons-nous parler avec le cancer pour arrêter ses effets nocifs sur le corps humain sans endommager les cellules saines ? C'est la question principale à laquelle j'espère répondre dans mon nouveau laboratoire.

        • Twitter
        Snapchat-798017457.jpg

        Dawn Pratt

        Fondatrice/éducatrice STIM/chimiste Askenootow STEM

        Titre de la discussion : Indigenizing STEM

        (en anglais seulement)

        Tansi ! Anine ! 

        Dawn Pratt est membre de la nation Muscowpetung Anihšināpēk. Forte d'une expérience variée dans l'enseignement des sciences et d'un esprit indomptable, elle a forgé un cabinet de conseil professionnel en tant qu'experte en éducation autochtone STIM au cours des 20 dernières années.

        Dawn a obtenu une maîtrise ès sciences avec une spécialisation en conception de matériaux adsorbants organiques visant à éliminer l'arsenic de l'eau contaminée (Université de la Saskatchewan, 2011). Ses recherches ont donné lieu à plusieurs publications évaluées par des pairs, dont deux premiers auteurs et trois co-auteurs ainsi que sa thèse intitulée « Sorption of Arsenic Species using Chitosan-Based Biopolymer Sorbent Materials ».  

        Auparavant, elle a participé activement à deux programmes de l'Université de la Saskatchewan, Science Ambassador (2007) et MentorSTEP (2019). Dans ces deux programmes, elle a contribué à la conception ou à la prestation de programmes STEM pour les jeunes autochtones ou les jeunes adultes. En particulier, MentorSTEP a été conçu pour connecter les filles et les femmes autochtones aux études et aux carrières en STIM dans la recherche et l'exploitation minière. 

        Dawn est fondamentalement déterminée à réintégrer les enseignements des Aînés autochtones et des gardiens du savoir dans l'enseignement des STIM au profit de l'avenir des peuples autochtones. Elle cherche à amplifier les modèles de rôle autochtones en STIM et le contenu autochtone en STIM en transformant les pratiques et les programmes d'enseignement de manière à intégrer les traditions et les ressources culturelles, linguistiques et terrestres autochtones. 

        • Twitter
        Julie_edited.jpg

        Julie Mireille Thériault

        Professeure, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)

        Titre de la discussion : Neige, pluie ou verglas ?

         

        Julie Mireille Thériault est professeure au Département des sciences de la Terre et de l’atmosphère de l’Université du Québec à Montréal et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en Évènements météorologiques extrêmes hivernaux. Après son baccalauréat en physique à l’Université de Moncton, elle a obtenu une maîtrise et un doctorat en sciences de l’atmosphère de l’Université McGill. Ses travaux de recherche portent sur les précipitations hivernales aux températures proches de 0C. Elle étudie les tempêtes hivernales de façon inédite à l’aide d’une approche novatrice qui combine la modélisation atmosphérique et les observations sur le terrain. Ses réalisations ont permis de mieux comprendre l’incertitude associée avec la mesure de la neige au sol, les mécanismes de formation du grésil et du verglas ainsi que leurs évolutions dans le futur.

        • Twitter
        Winnie Ye.jpg

        Dre Winnie Ye

        Professeure, Université Carleton

        Titre de la discussion : Magic of Light – Understanding Photonics/Optics

        (en anglais seulement)

        La Dre Winnie Ye est professeure titulaire au Département d'électronique de l'Université Carleton. Elle est également titulaire d'une chaire de recherche du Canada (niveau II) et son expertise porte sur la photonique sur silicium et ses applications dans les télécommunications, la communication de données, la biophotonique et les énergies renouvelables. Dr Ye a reçu son B.Eng. diplôme en génie électrique de l'Université Carleton. Elle a ensuite étudié la photonique et a obtenu son MASc. et un doctorat en génie électrique et informatique de l'Université de Toronto et de l'Université Carleton, respectivement. Elle s'est ensuite jointe au Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) et à l'Université Harvard en tant que boursière postdoctorale du CRSNG. Le Dr Ye est retourné à Carleton en tant que membre du corps professoral en 2009.

        • Twitter

Meet The Speakers

 
Eliza.jpeg

Eliza Ali

PhD Student, Department of Neuroscience, Carleton University/ Merali Lab, The Royal's Institute of Mental Health Research

Talk Title: Can rats teach us more about empathy?

During her research in Neuroscience from Carleton University Eliza explored how vicarious stress affects the behaviour and the neurobiology of juvenile and adult rats. She is a member of the Society for Neuroscience Chapter in Ottawa and is a Global Shaper with the World Economic Forum. She combines her passion for teaching, science outreach, and youth empowerment through her work developing and presenting hands-on activities to explain complicated science topics with excitement and positivity. She has appeared as a guest scientist on TVO's Look Kool and has traveled to communities in Northern Ontario and Nunavut teaching science in schools. For her commitment to science outreach to the youth, she was nominated for the Let’s Talk Science National Volunteer Award. She enjoys reading books of all kinds, getting crafty and hiking.

  • LinkedIn
8 - Irem Bor-Yaliniz.jpg

Dr. Irem Bor-Yaliniz

Senior Research Engineer / Huawei Canada Research Center

Talk Title: Sky is the limit for next generation wireless communications

 

Irem is a senior research engineer at one of the most distinguished wireless research centres, namely, Huawei Canada Research Center. She recently obtained her PhD from Carleton University. Her research has attracted significant attention within a short amount of time, and her studies have been described as "revolutionary" by professionals in her field. She is the first Canadian to be chosen as one of the Rising Stars in Communications and Networking by N2Women, and became a Senior Member of IEEE before graduation, which is a rare achievement. She is passionate about making science and engineering understandable for everyone, and encouraging young generations for such programs. Therefore, she designed and delivered the first Enrichment Mini Program Course on Wireless Communications, and became a founding member of Science Slam Ottawa, a branch of Science Slam Canada.

  • Twitter
Jodi.jpg

Dr. Jodi Edwards

Scientist/Assistant Professor, University of Ottawa Heart Institute/University of Ottawa

Talk Title: Follow your heart but don't forget your brain: The heart-brain connection for cardiovascular health

 

Dr. Jodi Edwards is the director of the Brain and Heart Nexus Research Program at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute (UOHI) and an assistant professor in the School of Epidemiology and Public Health at the University of Ottawa. Dr. Edwards is a cardiovascular epidemiologist whose research program involves risk assessment and predictive modeling for the heart-brain interface, with a specific focus on the identification of novel cardiac markers of stroke and dementia risk and women's heart and brain health. Dr. Edwards completed her doctoral training at the University of British Columbia in 2014, where she was awarded the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Institute of Neurosciences and Mental Health Brain Star Award for her doctoral work. She went on to complete a postdoctoral fellowship with Dr. Sandra Black at Sunnybrook Research Institute in Toronto, prior to joining the UOHI in December 2017. Dr. Edwards has published extensively in leading clinical journals including the Journal of the American Heart Association, Stroke, Neurology, and Alzheimer’s and Dementia and her work has received national media attention. Dr. Edwards presently holds research funding from the CIHR, the Canadian Cardiovascular Society and the Canadian Stroke Trials for Optimized Results.

  • Twitter
Gracielle.png

Dr. Gracielle Higino

University of British Columbia

Talk Title: Never tell me the odds!

​Gracielle is a biologist that has always wondered how species evolved and how they ended up living where they live now. She started her career researching why some female damselflies look like males and now she is a postdoc at the University of British Columbia rescuing data that's about to go extinct. Wait, data? Yes, data! She helps getting valuable environmental, ecological and evolutionary data that are not properly archived and make them open so they can thrive for many years to come. She also tries to understand things about the distribution of species, such as if we can use what we know about their interactions to find out where they are.

  • Twitter
Niki.jpg

Niki Mavragani

PhD. Student, University of Ottawa

Talk Title: Let's talk magnetism!

 

Niki Mavragani, originated from Greece, is an international graduate student at the University of Ottawa. She performed her undergraduate and graduate studies at the University of Patras in Greece where she obtained a MSc in Analytical Chemistry (2018). Since 2019 she is pursuing a PhD in Chemistry and specializes on the synthesis of single molecule magnets as a member of the Murugesu Group at the University of Ottawa.

  • Twitter
Sangeeta.jpeg

Dr. Sangeeta Murugkar

Associate Professor, Department of Physics, Carleton University

Talk Title: Biophotonics: Shedding Light on Life

 

Dr. Sangeeta Murugkar is an Associate Professor in the Department of Physics at Carleton University where she leads the research laboratory in Biophotonics. She is interested in applying her background in studying light-matter interactions and her experience in the photonics industry, to develop optical techniques that can be translated to the clinic for improving patient care.

    Sandhu-Pic 2.jpg

    Dr. Jagdeep K. Sandhu

    Research Officer, National Research Council Canada

    Talk Title: The inflamed brain: putting out the fire of inflammation

    Dr. Sandhu obtained her PhD in 1998 under the supervision of Dr. Hyman Birnboim from the University of Ottawa where she established the role of free radicals produced by tumor-infiltrating neutrophils in tumor progression. After obtaining the NSERC post-doctoral fellowship she joined the National Research Council Canada and was hired as a continuing Research Officer in 2001. Her research is focused on 2 themes: i) Understanding the role of the innate immune system during inflammation, ii) Leveraging exosomes - nature's own nanoparticles to deliver therapeutics and for biomarker discovery. She works closely with the biopharmaceutical companies and provide a wide range of expertise in the pre-clinical development and evaluation of therapeutic candidates by de-risking and accelerating their commercialization. As an Adjunct Professor at the University of Ottawa, Dr. Sandhu is involved in teaching and extremely dedicated to the training of the next generation of scientists and serves as a member of the Faculty of Graduate and Post-doctoral studies.

      Liette - pic 2.jpg

      Dr. Liette Vasseur

      Full Professor, Brock University

      Talk Title: For a good wine, you need a good vineyard 

      Dr. Vasseur is a full professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at Brock University, St Catharines, Ontario, Canada. She is also a member of the Environmental Sustainability Research Centre, one of five transdisciplinary research centers at the university). Since 2014, she has held the UNESCO Chair in Community Sustainability: from Local to Global. Her research program is transdisciplinary and links to ecosystem management, resilience and adaptation to climate change through participatory action research with both rural and coastal communities. Her work is located not only in Canada, but also internationally in China (as a Minjiang researcher at Fujian Agriculture and Forestry University), Ecuador, Burkina Faso and Senegal. She works on gender equality, diversity and inclusion with the UNESCO-CC. Since 2020, she is co-editor-in-chief of the Journal Botanique. She currently chairs the Canadian Commission for UNESCO (CCUNESCO) and the Ecosystem Governance Thematic Group of the Commission on Ecosystem Management of the International Union for Conservation of Nature, where she is also Vice President for North America. Her university-community research has earned her the 2011 Latornell Award from Conservation Ontario and the 2018 Brock University Distinguished Research and Creative Activity Award.

      • Twitter
      Onita.jpg

      Dr. Onita Basu

      Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Carleton University

      Talk Title: Do you know your SDGs?

       

      Dr. Basu is an environmental engineer with over 15 years experience in industry and academia. Dr. Basu leads an applied research group focused on experimental design, set-up and design of bench scale, pilot scale and full scale experiments. Coaching effective communication in STEM is a key focus of training in her research group.  Research applications include water treatment and  resource management in rural areas, biofiltration optimization, wastewater disinfection, membrane operations, and biofuel development. Dr. Basu recently received a Carleton University Research Achievement Award (2019), a Carleton Graduate Student Mentor Award (2021) and the PEO Ottawa Chapter Civic Award (2020).

      • Twitter
      CR5_7273.jpg

      Dr. Claire Deschênes

      Professor Emeritus, Univeristé Laval

      Talk Title: De la beauté en physique et dans les turbines hydrauliques 

      (Talk in French only)

       

      Professor Emeritus of Laval University, Professor Claire Deschênes is a pioneer known internationally for her research in engineering, for her commitment to expanding the place of women in science and for women's equality in general. Since 2017, she has been the director of the interdisciplinary scholarly journal Recherches féministes. She has received several honors including Member of the Order of Canada, Knight of the National Order of Quebec and two honorary doctorates. She founded the Hydraulic Machinery Laboratory at Laval University and established an industrial and academic research consortium that is now internationally recognized for the development of state-of-the-art experimental and numerical analyses of hydraulic turbines. 

        Monica.jpg

        Dr. Monica Granados

        Senior Policy Analyst, Environment and Climate Change Canada

        Talk Title: Open science: Putting science within reach
         

        Dr. Granados is a Open Science and Data Policy Advisor at Environment and Climate Change Canada. She provides subject matter expertise and supports the delivery of Canada’s open science initiatives. As a member of the Leadership Team at PREreview she works to make peer review more open and diverse. Monica is also currently on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Open Data Society promoting open data in Canada and also an alumna of the Frictonless Data Fellowship.

        • Twitter
        Adina.jpg

        Prof. Adina Luican-Mayer

        Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, University of Ottawa

        Talk Title: The amazing quantum world of the thinnest materials 
         

        Adina Luican-Mayer started as an assistant professor in the Physics Department at uOttawa in January 2016. She received her undergraduate degree from Jacobs University Bremen in Germany (2006) and her PhD in Physics from Rutgers University in the USA (2012). Prior to joining uOttawa, she was the Alexei Abrikosov postdoctoral fellow at the Center for Nanoscale Materials at Argonne National Laboratory outside Chicago.

         

        Her research group focuses on uncovering the novel electronic properties of low-dimensional systems custom made by stacking atomically thin sheets of van der Waals materials using scanning probe microscopy and supporting spectroscopic techniques.

        • Twitter
        Nirosha.jpg

        Dr. Nirosha J. Murugan

        Assistant Professor in Health Science, Algoma University

        Talk Title: Reprogramming Cancer – using regenerative & biomedical engineering strategies to change the fate of cancer

        I am a newly appointed assistant professor in the Department of Biology at Algoma University. Growing up in a busy city like Toronto, it always fascinated me to see so many people interact and communicate with others to build a prosperous city in what seemed like a chaotic environment. How much signal could be found within the noise? This fascination with biological systems and their environments took to me to Northern Ontario's Laurentian University, where I began to focus on these questions with an emphasis on human health; how biological systems communicate with their environments and what happens when these communication systems breakdown. I then gained interdisciplinary expertise with training in Neuroscience (BSc- Sudbury, ON), Cancer Biology, (MSc & PhD Sudbury, ON) and Regenerative Medicine & Biomedical Engineering (Post-Doc- Boston USA). I now use this diverse repertoire to bring a new perspective to complex questions with a centered focus: How can we talk with cancer to stop its harmful effects on the human body without damaging healthy cells? This is the main question I hope to answer in my new lab.

        • Twitter
        Snapchat-798017457.jpg

        Dawn Pratt

        Founder/STEM Educator/Chemist Askenootow STEM

        Talk Title: Indigenizing STEM

        Tansi! Anin! 

        Dawn Pratt is a member of the Muscowpetung Anihšināpēk Nation. With varied experience in science education and an indomitable spirit, she has forged a professional consultancy as an Indigenous STEM Educational expert for the past 20 years.

        Dawn earned a Master of Science degree with a specialization in the design of organic adsorbent materials directed toward the removal of arsenic from contaminated water (University of Saskatchewan, 2011). Her research resulted in several peer-reviewed publications, including two first-authored and three co-authored papers along with her thesis entitled “Sorption of Arsenic Species using Chitosan-Based Biopolymer Sorbent Materials”. 

        Previously, she was actively involved in two University of Saskatchewan programs, Science Ambassador (2007) and MentorSTEP (2019). In both these programs, she contributed to designing or delivering STEM programming for Indigenous youth or young adults. In particular, MentorSTEP was designed to connect Indigenous girls and women to STEM studies and careers in research and mining. 

        Dawn is fundamentally driven to reinstate Indigenous Elder and Knowledge Keeper teachings into STEM education for the benefit of Indigenous Peoples’ futures. She seeks to amplify Indigenous STEM role models and Indigenized STEM content by transforming instructional practices and curricula in ways that embrace Indigenous cultural, linguistic and land-based traditions and resources. 

        • Twitter
        Julie_edited.jpg

        Julie Mireille Thériault

        Professor, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)

        Talk Title: Neige, pluie ou verglas ?

        (Talk in French only)

         

        Julie Mireille Thériault is a professor in the Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at the Université du Québec à Montréal and holds the Canada Research Chair in Winter Extreme Weather Events. After completing her B.Sc. in Physics at the Université de Moncton, she obtained her M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Atmospheric Sciences from McGill University. Her research focuses on winter precipitation at temperatures near 0C. She studies winter storms in a novel way using an innovative approach that combines atmospheric modeling and field observations. Its achievements have led to a better understanding of the uncertainty associated with the measurement of snow on the ground, the mechanisms of sleet and ice formation and their evolution in the future.

        • Twitter
        Winnie Ye.jpg

        Dr. Winnie Ye

        Professor, Carleton University

        Talk Title: Magic of Light - Understanding Photonics/ Optics

        Dr. Winnie Ye is a Full Professor in the Department of Electronics at Carleton University. She is also a Canada Research Chair (Tier II), and her expertise is in silicon photonics and its applications in telecommunications, data communication, biophotonics, and renewable energy. Dr. Ye received her B.Eng. degree in Electrical Engineering from Carleton University. She then studied Photonics and received her M.A.Sc. and Ph.D degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Toronto and Carleton University, respectively. She then joined the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and Harvard University as a NSERC postdoctoral fellow. Dr. Ye returned to Carleton as a faculty member in 2009.

        • Twitter